askchapo
askchapo star_wraith 10 months ago 100%

What’s it like reading Marx in your first language (assuming it is not English)?

I’m curious about the experience of reading Marx from our users for whom English is their second language. For me as a native English speaker… I love reading Marx but the language feels so arcane at times. I mean, he rarely uses words I don’t understand, but the context in which he uses them often eludes me. It’s almost like he uses to many words when a briefer sentence would be more effective, at least to a modern audience. It’s nowhere near the experience of say reading Shakespeare, which I can’t do without some sort of modern guide. But I feel like the language is challenging enough that it’s a barrier to some people.

So I’m curious if the experience is similar in other languages (especially curious about German).

28
5
Comments 5