helpers
helpers marek 2 years ago 0%

"What does Friendica wants to be"?

@helpers @developers

Let me start with a concrete, question: Are there any efforts / plans to support the upload of videos?

And now, since I might have your attention, allow me to broaden the question to:

What is your opinion regarding "what #Friendica is / should be"?

My view / vision is heading slightly in the direction that nowadays image and video content is quite central in social networks and thus a #Fediverse application like friendica should support the multimedia aspect a bit more, if it wants to be attractive for the broad public in terms of being an alternative to commercial social networks.

Most of you might tell: "Yeah, if one prefers media centric Fediverse, then check out #pixelfed ". But I think, pixelfed is yet too much of an Instagram clone, only providing the image / video focus (which bothered me at Instagram from the very beginning not being able to have good commenting / discussion options there).

In my view, Friendica has great potential becoming a great "one fits all" application for the majority of people who like social media and the concept of the Fediverse. It has way more cool functions than #mastodon / pixelfed (which are in my opinion too close copies of Instagram and Twitter, respectively) but much simpler and convenient than Hubzilla (which I think is really great, for a computer science person, but not for the broad non-technical focussed public)

Wrapping it up: I would love to see a Friendica development towards an easier multimedia support. What are your thoughts?

Cheers

Marek

0
0
Comments 0