warhammer40k
Warhammer 40k Doctor_Spork 1 year ago 96%

Der Rt. 'Orrible Kommiesaaagh Bignob Grimshag Primeork of da Orkus 'Eresy

Der Rt. 'Orrible Kommiesaaagh Bignob Grimshag Primeork of da Orkus 'Eresy

This fella is my entry to the painting competition.

He has very much been a labour of love. A long time ago in the mists of time (2nd/3rd edition 40k) I made myself a Bloodaxe Warboss and being a teenager I gave him the most puerile name I could get away with actually using in a GW store. So after doing my research I decided on Bignob Grimshag. Bignob is obvious he is literally a big ork nob and Grimshag was found to be an ork name used in an old deck of GW's combat cards. He had a commissar's peaked cap, a huge set of epaulettes that I crudely sculpted from green stuff and a chest of medals (stolen from commissars he had krumped). Sadly, like almost all my miniatures from those days, he has been lost to the winds of time so I as I rejoined the hobby I thought it would be a good idea to resurrect him.

Being interested in 3D printing I started off by doing a 'digital conversion', taking parts from about 20 different sculpts that I found online and squishing, scaling and slicing them up to create a starting point that I then added a load of green stuff to. I even hand sculpted the epaulettes as I had on the original, although this time they aren't quite as crude.

He had been languishing for a while as I got distracted by the dozens of other hobby projects I start and put aside to move on to the next one. So when I saw the painting competition on here I decided that this would give me the motivation to finish him off.

All he needed now was a pet, so I jumped onto ebay to find him a squig. After a quick browse I found a Kev Adams sculpt from 4th ed. WHFB that used to be part of my old Orc and Goblin army and the nostalgia removed a few notes from my wallet. Meet 'Oi!'

'Oi!, GET 'IM'

I hope you like them both and good luck to everyone entering.

46
2
Comments 2