homenetworking
Home Networking acestins 10 months ago 100%

Thinking about getting a network switch, but want information first...

My current internet setup is a bit different because I live above a detached garage. I use Ethernet Over Coax, as coax was already ran. 95% of the time, it's set up as shown in the image, under 'Current'. However, sometimes when me and my friend want to play a game that I have to run a server for (Minecraft, Arma, etc), I have to unplug the MoCA and PC from the router, and directly connect them, which allows me to access to main router/modem from the main house (I'm sure I could fix that, but last time I tried I couldn't get it to work, and I think it'll just be easier to take a hardware-route). After we are done with the server for the day, I then reconnect the router because I need the WiFi for other devices (phone, smart lights). That itself isn't that much of a bother to me, and I've been doing that for 2 years now. But...

I built a second PC to help with streaming and creating game servers, just something to offload the work. We can say PC A is the gaming computer, while PC B is the PC hosting the server. PC B needs to be connected to the MoCA, but I also need the router to be connected to it as well for WiFi, and obviously PC A needs internet access as well (in the 'Idea' drawing, I have it connected to the Switch but I don't think it really matters, it could connect to the Router instead).

My biggest question is; Will this work? I did some 10-minute googling and it seems like it should work, and I believe a Switch is what I need, but it's always better just to ask.

Thanks!

https://preview.redd.it/zzs1ail1c54c1.jpg?width=960&format=pjpg&auto=webp&s=26ad3eefb3d2f4f80e092a718b5e974425772355

1
0
Comments 0