transenby_liberation
transenby_liberation Ithorian 9 months ago 100%

Is it appropriate to frame being trans as purely medical thing?

I've ended up in a few conversations recently where someone has basically said to me "I don't mind trans people I just don't get it." My response is along the line of "the body fucks up and has birth defects all the time, some people are born with a cleft lip or an extra finger or shrunken limb and some people are born with the wrong genitals and hormones. Theres no real difference and you certainly would support a blind person getting their eyes fixed so of course you should support transpeople getting their genitals fixed." So far for most of the people I've talked too this has been like a light bulb going on.

However I don't currently have any irl trans friends to bounce this off of and I want to make sure I'm not being an idiot and framing it in an offensive way or missing something I should really be adding to the conversation.

15
9
Comments 9