"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearRO
rockhopper LordGloom 1 year ago 92%

Got the Stumpjumper rolling again

Got the Stumpjumper rolling again

I found this on CL in really bad shape while looking for parts for another RH(see my other post). I thought I might flip it, but there a some safety concerns so I'm just going to keep it for myself. The left chain stay has a few dents, so I had to sand away alot of the paint to get the extent of the damage. No crimps or cracks. The wheel sits straight, but it's something to keep an eye on. The rest of the paint on the rear triangle was pretty bad so I just roughed up the existing paint, and rattle canned it. I rebuilt the fork, and it works great. The safety problem is with the brake posts. The threads in the fork were kind of shot. One would even catch then spin freely after a certain point. So I chased the threads, which helped then used red lock tight to hopefully make sure they stay put. I'll replace the lowers, or the whole fork eventually. The wheels are from another bike. The Homage tires are new, but have been sitting in a box for years. I loved the old green Wild Gripper tires, and thought I needed these. Can't speak on their durability yet, but I really like them. Fast rolling on the way to the trail, and handled a really slippery rocky quarry trail fine.

11
0
Comments 0