askchapo
askchapo polskilumalo 1 week ago 100%

Is becoming an HGV driver a good idea?

Is becoming an HGV driver a good idea?

I mean, I'm already looking into it on the internet and am asking my family who worked (and work) as professional drivers on how the job looks. However the family part is not very useful as all I get is either "Shit's hard, you won't last a day." or other condescending bullshit. I know shit's hard for fucks sake, good thing is for some fucking reason I like long distance driving. And dealing with assholes and idiots at the job? Yeah fucker, like I won't have to anywhere else, especially in IT.

But to add context, my father tried to work as one in Germany. He doesn't know German. Supposedly it was extremely difficult and cruel, couldn't do it, so he quit very quickly. Now, I don't think I'm built different, but I do think the actual company he was working for was the main culprit for the shit working conditions. Not to mention the language barrier.

I do plan and want to finish my Engineer's degree (undergrad), however for fucks sake I don't want to slave away on Github on shit I don't care for nor have an interest in to pad out my CV. And still, I'll be lucky to find anything that pays even OK, or will hire me in the first place, after getting my degree.

That's why I consider trucking in the Ireland and maybe UK, cause supposedly even entry level drivers get on average £30,000. Long distance £40,000. That's lods of fockin emone for me.

The median pay in Poland is 6550zł before taxes. That's something like £1294 a month. After taxes? 4800zł, that's something like £948 a month.

Now for the more realistic pay I'll get. Before taxes, minimum wage is 4242zł. 3261,53zł after taxes a month.

only 645 fucking pounds a month

Yeah mate, I'd like to own my own fucking home please. And with even £30,000 a year I'm gonna get there in like 4 or 5 years. No loans, no credit, nothin.

🎶 Sing a song of six pence, a pocket full of dosh Dibble dibble, dibble dibble, bosh bosh bosh 🎶

Thing is, the thing kinda sounds better than it really might be, despite me constantly looking into the reality of this difficult work. I don't know, the ££££emone££££ is really enticing for me to seriously consider it... and apparently there's a pretty big driver shortage on that island and it's wretched neighbor...

19
7
Comments 7