"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearGU
Unofficial GURPS Community 5too 1 year ago 100%

Starforged-GURPS fusion!

Ironsworn (and it's sci-fi successor, Starforged) are products of the recent surge in solo gaming. I really like how they tie several simple moves and mechanics together to create unexpected storylines and exciting campaigns. However, it's not a particularly crunchy system. GURPS, of course, can be; but has no real system of its own for less GM-centric play (the closest I've seen is The Collaborative Gamer's work, which doesn't really stretch beyond individual adventures). So, I thought I'd try wrapping the crunchy GURPS ruleset inside a nice Starforged move system!

My approach has been to keep most of the Ironsworn/Starforged moves intact; but resolve the move rolls using GURPS rules based on a full-fledged GURPS character. I've detailed the changes I've made to the Starforged system here.

I documented a brief playthrough using this system, a bit of which will be posted in the comments as an example of this system in use. The world I'm using is based on GURPS: After the End, with elements from GURPS: Lands Out of Time and GURPS: Reign of Steel. Think Mad Max with dinosaurs and robots! I'm using mostly the Starforged versions of the moves, with Ironsworn and other oracles to better fit the setting.

3
4
Comments 4